RCW 9.41.050 requires you to have a Concealed Pistol License when:
First download and complete the CPL Application then:
Application hours are from 8:00 AM to 4:00 PM weekdays excluding holidays.
Concealed Pistol License fees are listed below. Please note that all fees are non-refundable.
Payments can be made using cash, check or money order made payable to the South Bend Police Department. We do not accept debit/credit cards. All payments must be made in person at the police department in South Bend at the time of application.
For all applications, you will need to bring picture identification (i.e. Washington driver’s license or ID card). For a renewal or late renewal, please bring your current Concealed Pistol License in addition to your picture ID.
Yes. The following requirements must be met:
Yes, a criminal history background check will be conducted before your Concealed Pistol License is issued.
If you are submitting an original application, you must be fingerprinted before your Concealed Pistol License is issued. You are not required to be re-printed if you are submitting an application for a renewal, late renewal, or replacement license. Fingerprinting is by appointment only by calling 360-875-5444, Monday through Friday, 8:00 AM to 4:00 PM, excluding holidays
If you are applying for your first Concealed Pistol License, it may take up to 30 days to complete the background check before the license is issued. Otherwise you can expect your licensed to be mailed to you within a week.
Your Concealed Pistol License is valid for five years from the date your license is issued. You will not receive a renewal notice and it is your responsibility to ensure your license has not expired.
If your Concealed Pistol License expired more than 90 days ago and you wish to renew, your application will be processed as an original application, NOT a late renewal. You will need to be fingerprinted, and the fee will be a non-refundable sum of $55.25. Be sure to check “Original Application”, NOT “Late Renewal” of license on the Concealed Pistol License application.
If your Concealed Pistol License has been lost, stolen, or destroyed, you may obtain a replacement license. Fill out the Concealed Pistol License application and check “Replacement License” on the form. Please be sure to bring picture identification (i.e. Washington driver’s license or ID card). The fee for a replacement license is $10.00. The expiration date will remain the same as it was on your original license.
Washington has reciprocity or accepts Concealed Pistol Licenses issued by a number of other states, so long as the handgun is carried in accordance with Washington law. The Washington State Attorney General’s website provides a list of those states that have reciprocity with Washington for Concealed Pistol Licenses.
If you would like to obtain more information pertaining to state firearms law, please call or write the Department of Licensing in Olympia:
Department of Licensing
For questions regarding federal law pertaining to firearms, or if you would like to obtain a copy of Federal Firearms Regulations, please write or call:
The Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF)
Fingerprint services are available at the South Bend Police Department
The fee for fingerprinting services is $10.00 unless it is a Concealed Pistol License you are applying for which is included in your Concealed Pistol License fee.
If being fingerprinted for a Concealed Pistol License, we provide the cards. Otherwise you must provide your own fingerprint card. These cards can typically be obtained from the entity in which you are applying to.
Valid photo identification is required prior to being fingerprinted. The following are considered valid forms of identification: