
By Mail - Deferred Finding By Mail 8/2014 
 

SOUTH BEND MUNICIPAL COURT 
TRAFFIC DEFERRALS 

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTION 
 

Q: Can I keep my traffic ticket off my driving (Department of Licensing) record? 
A. If you have received a traffic infraction, you may be eligible for a Deferred Finding.  You qualify for a 

Deferred Finding if you have not taken this option on a traffic ticket within the last seven years.  
Upon successful completion of the deferral conditions your ticket will be dismissed.  You may defer 
only one moving infraction and only one non-moving infraction each seven years.  The length of the 
deferral period is one year in this Court.   

 

The Court does not allow deferrals for these infractions: Passing a School Bus, Speeding in a 
School Zone, Speeding in a Construction Zone, Speeding 20 miles over the limit or more, or any 
infraction where a fatality occurred, or Parking Violations.  The Judge can not grant a Deferred 
Finding if you have a commercial driver’s license even if the CDL is inactive. If your CDL is inactive 
and you would like to be considered for a deferred finding you must surrender your CDL. 
 

If you qualify for a Deferred Finding and want to request the Judge to consider your request without a Court 
hearing you will need to read, sign and mail in this Deferred Finding Statement.  If you qualify for a Deferred 
Finding the Judge will sign the order and a copy will be mailed to you.  Your one year deferral will start from 
the date the Judge signs the order.  Payment is due in full at the time of the request.   
 

If you had insurance at the time of the stop, and submit proof that your insurance was in effect on the date 
of your traffic ticket, your insurance charge will be dismissed with a $25 statutory assessment.     
 

If you do not want a Deferred Finding but wish to mitigate or contest your ticket by mail instead of appearing 
in Court, follow the instructions for the Hearing by Mail section on the back of your ticket. 
 

DEFERRED FINDING STATEMENT BY DEFENDANT 
  

1.   I agree to pay the required Administrative Fee of $175 within thirty (30) days, unless I have 
selected another payment option on the back of this form.   
 2.   The Court will dismiss my infraction(s) marked DF (deferred finding) at the end of deferral if I pay 
the required Administrative Fee and I do not commit a new traffic infraction or criminal traffic offense at any 
location within one year of the Deferral Order being signed. 
 3.   If I fail to comply with the conditions of the deferral, including payment of the administrative fee, 
the entire penalty stated on the Notice of Infraction will be due in addition to the administrative fee.  The 
Court may, without a hearing or without further notice to me, enter a finding that I have committed the 
infraction(s) listed on the Infraction Number shown above and will report the finding to the Washington State 
Department of Licensing. 
 4.   I hereby waive any right I have to a speedy hearing, including the right I have under IRLJ 2.6.  I 
understand that I am entitled to only one deferral for a moving violation and one deferral for a non-moving 
violation in a seven-year period as defined by WAC 308-104-160.  I have not been granted a deferral in the 
past seven years. 
 5.   I certify or declare under the penalty of perjury under the Laws of the State of Washington that 
my foregoing statements are true and correct.   
__________________________________________________  ___________________  
Signature         Date 
 
_____________________________________________________________________________________  
Print Name and Mailing Address                    Street                                         City                           State          ZIP 
 
Ticket Number: ___________________________     Phone: (______)__________________________ 
 

THIS FORM MUST BE RECEIVED BEFORE YOUR HEARING DATE IF YOU WANT TO 
REQUEST A DEFERRED FINDING BY MAIL. 

South Bend Municipal Court PO Box 9 South Bend WA 98586 


